From basic maturity-oriented protection to risk-based security management

The advantages of riskbased Cybersecurity based on ISO/IEC 27005

Although IT-Grundschutz catalogues allow a quick entry into cybersecurity, they neither offer effective protection of one's own assets nor are they sustainably scalable.

Such checklists can be simply ticked off and completed – just like annoying compliance restrictions. However, your organization is “not a bit” safer – and still a lot of money has to be spent on it.

Why a risk-based approach is the much better choice.

Introduction

If your company has neglected cybersecurity in the past, it doesn't hurt to start somewhere. ~~~ The BSI-Grundschutz-Katalog~~ The BSI-Grundschutz Compendium1, for example, describes numerous useful measures with which you can get started. You can also find other catalogs, such as the NIST Cybersecurity Framework2, which distinguishes 20 protection areas.

You could – at least theoretically – mature organizationally and become “old” by following these suggestions and further developing and continuously strengthening each of these measures. This will not only cost you much more money and effort than necessary – you will also end up unhappy.

Why this is so, you will learn in this article.

Introducing Cybersecurity

Cybersecurity is currently a major topic in the face of numerous threats and spectacular hacks, which accordingly calls for a great deal of attention and rightly solicits investments in defence 3.

However, these measures – like all business measures and decisions – should be in a reasonable proportion to the risks. Like all other risks, cyber risks must therefore be identified with appropriate care and handled appropriately.

If you only implement standard measures according to basic protection catalogues, you have no guarantee that exactly your assets, processes and projects are adequately protected. Since every organization offers an individual attack profile, malicious attackers are also happy if they only come across a standardized protection concept that leaves the relevant areas of attack open in individual cases.

Not only occasional hackers, insider tips, but also highly professional organized crime and state troops threaten business activities worldwide. You should therefore lose no time and take targeted risk-indicating measures.

Standardized maturity models – and their limitations

Individual measures and actions like penetration tests, security officers, firewalls, 2-factor authentication, password policies are always helpful and useful. However, they cannot be scaled and elastically adapted to your specific requirements.

On the contrary: the larger the company, the more difficult it is to raise the maturity level of IT measures in a uniform manner. It's as if you wanted to water all your “security plants” better all at once: you need considerably more water, the watering can is getting heavier and heavier, you can hardly keep up.

Since it is a matter of taming business risks, economic criteria in combination with technical expertise should be decisive: Tackling major cyber risks will cost more money than tackling manageable ones, just as seizing major opportunities makes more investments available.

Advantages of the risk-based approach

Not only a too low quality level, but also an excessive quality level, which neither reduces production costs nor increases customer satisfaction, costs money unnecessarily. In exactly the same way, a tyre-based safety concept costs money unnecessarily without providing more safety.

A risk-based approach, on the other hand, makes it possible to adjust and reduce security investments in a targeted manner. In addition, the integration of cyber risks into general risk management enables management to monitor risks uniformly throughout the company and to take appropriate countermeasures.

This potential streamlining of cyber security measures can lead to substantial savings for large companies while at the same time increasing security levels, according to McKinsey up to several million euros 4.

Implementation of the risk-based approach

The size of the risk depends on the vulnerability, the probability of occurrence and the impending impact. Ultimately, however, the risk always depends on the underlying asset to be protected. By no means does this refer only to material assets, quite the contrary: patents, processes, customer contacts and reputation are the actual assets.

Risk management according to ISO/IEC 27005 protects intangible assets

Accordingly, risk management according to ISO/IEC 27005 5 always starts from a list of all assets, ideal and material. On this basis, the vulnerability and the probability of occurrence are determined. In this way, targeted measures can be taken – or, vice versa, the risk can be consciously accepted.

As part of the overall risk management, cybersecurity risks can thus be dealt with adequately and efficiently. Finally, cyber risks – like all risks – should be visualized, communicated and continuously monitored.

Cyber risks, such as key performance indicators (KPIs), can be monitored and actively controlled with a key risk indicator (KRI).

Result

A risk-based approach to cyber-risk management is not only smarter than simply implementing basic protection measures according to checklists, it is also more effective and potentially even cheaper.

If cyberrisk management is set up on a risk-based basis and integrated via uniform risk management, a company can exploit opportunities and avoid risks in a uniformly controlled manner.

Combined with open and transparent risk communication, cybersecurity thus becomes an integrated component of a digitally sovereign company that is ready to implement security by design in reality.


  1. German Federal Office for Information Security (BSI): Basic Protection Compendium (German) ↩︎

  2. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST): Cybersecurity Framework ↩︎

  3. The Annual Report of the Cyber Security Panel 2020 (German) speaks of 104 billion euros in damage. ↩︎

  4. McKinsey (Jim Boehm, Nick Curcio, Peter Merrath, Lucy Shenton, Tobias Stähle): The risk-based approach to cybersecurity, October 2019. ↩︎

  5. ISO/IEC 27005 - Information Security Risk Management ↩︎

Vom Grundschutz zum risikobasierten Sicherheitsmanagement

Die Vorteile von risikobasiertem Cybersecurity-Management nach ISO/IEC 27005

IT-Grundschutz-Kataloge ermöglichen zwar einen raschen Einstieg in die Cybersecurity, bieten aber weder einen effektiven Schutz der eigenen Vermögenswerte noch sind sie nachhaltig skalierbar.

Solche Checklisten können zwar einfach abgehakt und erledigt werden – so wie lästige Compliance-Einschränkungen. Ihre Organisation ist damit aber um «keinen Deut» sicherer – und trotzdem muss dafür viel Geld ausgegeben werden.

Warum ein risikobasierter Ansatz die viel bessere Wahl ist.

Einleitung

Wenn Ihr Unternehmen Cybersecurity bisher stark vernachlässigt hat, kann es nicht schaden, einmal irgendwo damit anzufangen. Der BSI-Grundschutz-Katalog Das BSI-Grundschutz-Kompendium1 beschreibt beispielsweise zahlreiche sinnvolle Massnahmen, mit denen Sie starten können. Sie finden auch andere Kataloge, wie das NIST Cybersecurity Framework2, das 20 Schutzbereiche unterscheidet.

Sie könnten – zumindest theoretisch – damit organisatorisch reifen und «alt» werden, indem Sie diesen Vorschlägen folgen und jede dieser Massnahmen weiter entwickeln und fortlaufend verstärken. Das wird Sie nicht nur viel mehr Geld und Aufwand als notwendig kosten – Sie werden dabei auch unglücklich enden.

Warum das so ist, erfahren Sie in diesem Beitrag.

Cybersecurity einführen

Cybersecurity ist angesichts zahlreicher Bedrohungen und spektakulärer Hacks derzeit ein grosses Thema, das dem entsprechend viel Beachtung und zurecht nach Investitionen zur Abwehr ruft3.

Diese Massnahmen sollten aber – wie alle geschäftlichen Massnahmen und Entscheidungen – in einem sinnvollen Verhältnis zu den Risiken stehen. Wie alle anderen Risiken müssen deshalb auch Cyberrisiken entsprechend sorgfältig erkannt und sachgerecht behandelt werden.

Wenn Sie lediglich Standardmassnahmen nach Grundschutz-Katalogen durchführen, haben Sie keinerlei Gewähr, dass genau Ihre Vermögenswerte, Prozesse und Projekte adäquat abgesichert sind. Da jede Organisation ein individuelles Angriffsprofil bietet, freuen sich zudem böswillige Angreifer, wenn sie lediglich auf ein standardisiertes Schutzkonzept stossen, dass die im Einzelfall relevanten Angriffsflächen offen lässt.

Nicht nur Gelegenheitshacker, Insider-Tipps, auch hochprofessionell organisierte Kriminalität und staatliche Truppen bedrohen geschäftliche Aktivitäten weltweit. Sie sollten also keine Zeit verlieren und gezielt risikoindizierte Massnahmen setzen.

Standardisierte Reifemodelle – und ihre Beschränkungen

Einzelne Massnahmen und Aktionen wie Penetration-Tests, Sicherheitsbeauftragte, Firewalls, 2-Faktor-Authentifizierung, Passwort-Policies sind immer hilfreich und nützlich. Sie können aber nicht beliebig skaliert und elastisch an Ihre spezifischen Anforderungen angepasst werden.

Im Gegenteil: Je grösser das Unternehmen ist, umso schwieriger wird es den Reifegrad der IT-Massnahmen einheitlich anzuheben. Es ist, als wollten Sie alle Ihre «Sicherheits-Pflänzchen» auf einmal besser giessen: Sie brauchend deutlich mehr Wasser, die Giesskanne wird immer schwerer, Sie kommen kaum noch nach.

Da es um das Zähmen von Unternehmensrisiken geht, sollten wirtschaftliche Kriterien in Kombination mit technischem Sachverstand massgeblich sein: Die Bekämpfung grosser Cyberrisiken wird mehr Geld kosten als die von überschaubaren, so wie das Wahrnehmen grosser Chancen mehr Investitionen abrufbar macht.

Vorteile des risikobasierten Ansatzes

Nicht nur ein zu niedriges, auch ein überhöhtes Qualitätsniveau, das weder die Produktionskosten senkt, noch die Kundenzufriedenheit erhöht, kostet unnötig Geld. Auf die genau gleiche Art kostet ein reifebasiertes Sicherheitskonzept unnötig Geld, ohne mehr Sicherheit zu liefern.

Ein risikobasierter Ansatz ermöglicht hingegen, Sicherheitsinvestitionen gezielt anzupassen und zu reduzieren. Zudem ermöglicht die Integration von Cyberrisiken in das allgemeine Risikomanagement dem Management die einheitliche unternehmensweite Risiküberwachung und gezielte Setzung geeigneter Gegenmassnahmen.

Diese potenzielle Verschlankung von Cybersecurity-Massnahmen kann bei grossen Unternehmen zu substanziellen Einsparungen bei gleichzeitig erhöhtem Sicherheitsniveau führen, laut McKinsey bis zu mehreren Millionen Euro4.

Umsetzung des risikobasierten Ansatzes

Die Grösse des Risikos hängt von der Verletzlichkeit, der Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeit und der drohenden Auswirkung ab. Letztendlich hängt das Risiko aber immer vom dahinterliegenden zu schützenden Vermögenswert ab. Dabei sind keineswegs nur materielle Vermögenswerte gemeint, ganz im Gegenteil: Patente, Prozesse, Kundenkontakte, Reputation machen als idelle Vermögenswerte den eigentlichen Vermögenswert aus.

Risikomanagement nach ISO/IEC 27005 schützt ideelle Vermögenswerte

Das Risikomanagement nach ISO/IEC 270055 geht dementsprechend immer von einer Auflistung aller Vermögenswerte (Assets), der ideellen und der materiellen aus. Davon ausgehend werden die Verletzlichkeit und die Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeit ermittelt. Auf diese Weise können gezielt Massnahmen gesetzt werden – oder, umgekehrt, das Risiko auch bewusst nur in Kauf genommen werden.

Als Teil des gesamten Risk-Managements können Cybersecurity-Risiken auf diese Weise adäquat und effizient behandelt werden. Letztendlich sollten auch Cyberrisiken – wie alle Risiken – visualisiert, kommuniziert und laufend überwacht werden.

Mit einem Key-Risk-Indicator (KRI) versehen können Cyberrisiken wie Key-Performance-Indicators (KPIs) überwacht und aktiv gesteuert werden.

Ergebnis

Ein risikobasierter Ansatz für Cyberrisk-Management ist nicht nur intelligenter als die einfache Umsetzung von Grundschutz-Massnahmen nach Checklisten, er ist auch wirksamer und potenziell sogar kostengünstiger.

Wird Cyberrisiko-Management risikobasiert aufgesetzt und wird es über ein einheitliches Risikomanagement integriert, kann ein Unternehmen einheitlich gesteuert Chancen nutzen und Risiken meiden.

Kombiniert mit einer offenen und transparenten Risiko-Kommunikation wird Cybersecurity so zum integrierten Bestandteil eines digital souveränen Unternehmens, das bereit ist, security by design in die Realität umzusetzen.


  1. Bundesamt für Informationssicherheit (BSI): Grundschutz-Kompendium ↩︎

  2. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST): Cybersecurity Framework ↩︎

  3. Der Jahresbericht des Weisenrats für Cybersicherheit 2020 spricht von 104 Mrd Euro Schaden: ↩︎

  4. McKinsey (Jim Boehm, Nick Curcio, Peter Merrath, Lucy Shenton, Tobias Stähle): The risk-based approach to cybersecurity, Oktober 2019. ↩︎

  5. ISO/IEC 27005 - Information Security Risk Management ↩︎